We Have Twelve Planets In Our Solar System

The international conference in Prague is likely to vote for this definition of a planet:

A planet, they decreed, is any star-orbiting object so large that its own gravity pulls in its rough edges, producing a near-perfect sphere.

So, Pluto remains a planet, but we get three new inductees to the club:

  • Ceres, currently the largest asteroid, is one.
  • 2003 UB313, dubbed “Xena” by its discoverer, would be another.
  • Charon, considered a moon, is inducted because its mass is so similar to Pluto's that they orbit the sun as a double planet, rather than as a planet dominating a much smaller moon.

Start coming up with a mnemonic:

  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Earth
  • Mars
  • Ceres
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • Neptune
  • Pluto
  • Charon
  • Xena

Update: Most Voluptuous Earth Mothers Can't Just Stay Under Ninety Pounds, Can't Xena?

8/29 Update: I should have updated this entry earlier. They voted the other way. Pluto is now a dwarf planet, a second-class citizen of the solar system, along with the others that should have been destined for greatness.

Josh Poulson

Posted Tuesday, Aug 15 2006 09:28 PM

Adjacent entries


« Dark Matter Announcement
What If We Had City-States? »





To track back to this entry, ping this URL: http://pun.org/MT/mt-tb.cgi/893

There are no trackbacks on this entry.


There is one comment on this entry.

Wow- thanks for the post I had a hard time remembering only 9 planets let alone 12 :)



Posted Wednesday, Aug 16 2006 11:30 PM

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)



Affiliate advertising

Basecamp project management and collaboration

Backpack: Get Organized and Collaborate